ELEANOR AND PARK BY RAINBOW ROWELL

ABOUT THE BOOK
From Goodreads

‘Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try’

ELEANOR AND PARK

MY THOUGHTS
I thought I’d love this book, I really did. I guess there’s a part of me that wanted to love this book, but I didn’t. It’s not in the least way a bad book, as a romance book I guess it hits all the check marks, but the thing is halfway through the book I got bored. It was just endless sappy dialogue which I guess would appeal to the romantics out there.
But there’s a lot of wonderful things about this book. Eleanor reminds me of both a Weasley and Merida from Brave. You know I really think Eleanor could be the Weasley’s muggle relatives. It’s wonderful that Eleanor is not your normal skinny girl who keeps moaning about her lacking in the chest area, it’s even more wonderful that Park is not some out of this world hot guy. No, they’re just normal teenagers, who don’t really engage in a lot of physical activity but still love each other.
So there’s Eleanor trapped in a house with an abusive step father, a submissive mother and a whole lot of little kids. I think that’s the reason Eleanor never says I love you back to Park, all she’s known is a broken family and being broken and so Park with his perfectly normal family seems too good for her, like she could never be a part of it. There’s a lot to learn from Park who loved Eleanor endlessly , even when her moodiness made her unlovable, and from Eleanor who stood up for herself in the end.
Those three words on the postcard? I think they’re the words Eleanor never said back. But I guess this book ends the way you want it too.
Rating- 3.5/5 stars
P.S – I think Rainbow Rowell has the best book covers

5 thoughts on “ELEANOR AND PARK BY RAINBOW ROWELL

  1. To be honest it is one of my favourite books, i know what you mean about the middle but there’s plenty of quotes to keep you going. Have you read any of her other books? As for the last three words i kind of hoped it was something like meet me outside of that she missed him or on my way or something – something to keep the story going, i don’t really know. Its going to be a film though, hopefully they wont spoil it✨

    Like

    1. I’ve read Fangirl and I loved it. I thought I’d really love this one too and I loved the first few chapters, but I don’t know, it’s just the middle that was a bit boring. But then again I’m not the biggest fan of the romance genre.
      I can see though how it could appeal to a lot of people, it’s a good book.
      Anyway, I plan to read Landline and Attachments next 🙂

      Like

      1. well i suppose thats fair enough :’) i havent read them yet im not really sure whether or not i would like them

        Like

Leave a Reply

