UGLY LIES – A POEM

UGLY LIES
He tells me I am beautiful,
I tell him that’s a lie.
When I was six-
my mother said
my skin was far too dark.
I defied genetics,
theirs I did not inherit.

He tells me my face is glorious,
I tell him not to lie.
When I was nine-
my mother said
my teeth were rabbit-like
my cheeks were squirrel-like.

He tells me my body is exquisite,
I beg him not to lie.
He tells me my too wide hips,
my tree trunk thighs
are a work of perfection.
I look him in the eyes-
they are clear brown,
I see no deceit,
I see no lies.
When I was fourteen-
my mother said
that my hips could birth a whale,
that my thighs were logs of wood.
He tells me I am beautiful,
I cry.
I do not,
I can not
believe his lie.

2 thoughts on “UGLY LIES – A POEM

Leave a Reply

